Early voting in Senate runoff elections begins today in Georgia

With the political eyes of the nation fixed on the Peach State, Georgians will begin voting in the Jan. 5 senate runoff elections today.

Bibb County residents can typically vote until from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday at three locations: The county election board (2525 Pio Nono Ave., STE 1200); Elaine H. Lucas Senior Center (132 Willie Smokie Glover Drive); and Theron Ussery Community Center (815 N. Macon Park Drive). Registered voters need to wear masks while inside, practice social distancing and provide a photo ID.

While the state’s early voting calendar runs through Jan. 1, Macon voters have until Thursday, Dec. 30 to vote early. The early voting locations will be closed Dec. 24-25 for Christmas and Dec. 31-Jan. 1 for News Year’s Eve/Day.

Macon’s Elaine Lucas Senior Center was one of the locations were early voting lines could be seen. (Courtesy Grant Blankenship (GPB))

Read more here